Franciacorta, Italy: Here We Come!

Some people might think that Friday the 13th brings bad luck.

JulieannecaseNot me!

Yesterday’s Friday the 13th brought me bubbles–and lots of them!

Yesterday, I was very grateful to be a wine blogger as I popped all of these corks of Italian Sparkling wine from Franciacorta to taste and tweet with Julieanne Case and toast the birthday of my good friend Helen O’Neil.

Here’s Julieanne hard at work on her tablet!

You can read the whole conversation by checking the hashtag #franciacorta. I will be posting notes and information on the wines soon! But in the meantime, I agree with Julieanne –my favorites were the organic Barone Pizziini Brut ($35)–very complex, rich and flavorful,  and the delicate Fratelli Berlucchi 2008 brut rose ($27) with delightful seafoam bubbles lifting fruits of wild strawberries, raspberries, and fresh cherries to my nose!

Even the ginger kitten got into the picture to investigate these sparkling Italian wines! (and no, these sparkling wines from Franciacorta ARE NOT anything like prosecco!)

As you can imagine, with six bottles of sparkling Franciacorta to open last night, I’m grateful to be a wine blogger today! Not to mention, on Weds I tasted and tweeted about Ghirardelli’s new chocolate bar flavors, Mint Cookie and ToffeeCrunch.

Coming up on Monday: five rieslings from the Finger Lakes in New York

Tuesday: five sauvignon blancs from the Loire Valley, France

Please note that these wines as well as the chocolates were provided as samples for my review consideration.

Please Comment! I'd love to hear from you!

