Wine Predator Wins Washington Wine Whirlwind WoodinvilleWallaWallaYakimaPalooza to WBC 2010!

Yes indeed, my efforts to wine my way to Washington have paid off well!

Not only did I win a scholarship to attend this year’s Wine Blogger’s Conference in Walla Walla Washington, but I also blogged my way through more than a dozen or so Washington Wines that are easily available in California to win a spot on the WBC-or-Bust Bus! And be able to taste some not-so-available wines and make you jealous! OK, just enough so you’ll track some of these amazing wines down for yourself! Or maybe you’ll find that you’ll just have to travel to Washington too!

So what’s in store for me next month? Here are some of the highlights:

I’ll fly in at the crack of dawn (literally) Weds. June 23 and be whisked away to Woodinville, home to Chateau Ste. Michelle Washington’s original winery, for a tour and a wine and food pairing. We’ll trot across the street to the Willows Lodge for a grand tasting of Woodinville wines and lunch (!), then head back to Seattle to Pike Brewery, for some beer (hey, why not? I’m a beer fan too!) Then a winemaker’s dinner at Waterfront Seafood Grill and fall into bed at the Renaissance Seattle Hotel where I am sure I will sleep beautifully and wake up rested for Day 2!

On our second day, we’ll drive to Walla Walla. But it won’t be an ordinary drive. Oh no, this one’s going to be special. I’m not normally one to take a four hour drive when I could fly just as easily. But what’s in store makes it worthwhile. And so does the landscape. It’s not like we’ll be roaring up through the Central Valley of California on Interstate 5. We’ll be driving through the Cascades for brunch and wine tasting at Cave B Inn on the Columbia River Gorge (love it already!), then a farm-sponsored luncheon amongst the vines of DuBrul Vineyard.

As if I could eat again in my life, our next stop offers us Yakima Valley regional cheese and breads  at Prosser’s Vintners’s Village and a Yakima Valley Grand Tasting. Our last stop before we find our beds at a Walla Walla B&B will be at Walla Walla Vintners for –you guessed it!–more wine! Plus food including wood fired pizza.

So how did I win this marvel of a trip? Here’s a list of the posts I wrote that mention Washington wine in reverse chronological order starting with April 30, 2010 Does L’Ecole No 41 Ring a Bell?

2 thoughts on “Wine Predator Wins Washington Wine Whirlwind WoodinvilleWallaWallaYakimaPalooza to WBC 2010!

  1. Yay Gwen! You are the personification of the saying– Luck is a lot of hard work.–
    See you in June

Please Comment! I'd love to hear from you!

